The British Travel and Hospitality Hall of Fame recognises the highest achievers in the travel, hospitality, tourism and leisure sectors. Inductees to the Hall of Fame have not only achieved phenomenal business success but have also mentored, inspired and shaped those around them. 

In addition to honouring those with a long track record of high achievement, the Hall of Fame also acts as an incubator for rising talent; each year recognising a Young Manager and Young Entrepreneur.  The Business Achievement Award is also presented alongside the Member induction ceremony.


The new Hall of Fame Members honoured in 2019 were:

Gary Beckwith, Co-founder, City Cruises

Rita Beckwith OBE, Co-founder, City Cruises

Frank J Del Rio, President & Chief Executive, Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings

Kristin Karst, Co-owner, AmaWaterways

Rudi Schreiner, Co-owner, AmaWaterways

Bea Tollman, President & Founder, Red Carnational Hotel Collection

Young Entrepreneur of the Year (Hospitality)

Natasha Steele, Founder, Urban Cordial

Young Entrepreneur of the Year (Travel)

Nathan Cable, Co-Founder, Party Hard Travel

Young Manager of the Year (Hospitality)

Sophie Egglestone, General Manager, Yorebridge House Hotel

Young Manager of the Year (Travel)

Iain Powell, Head of Trade Sales (Travel Division) Saga

A brief history

The British Travel and Hospitality Hall of Fame was created in 1995 in recognition of the achievements of outstanding individuals who had disrupted and shaped the market, but weren’t recognised by other awards programmes that tended to focus on business achievements rather than individual achievement.

In 2014 the Hall of Fame was acquired by one of its youngest inductees, Clive Jacobs, who decided that the Hall of Fame would not only be a jewel in Travel Weekly’s crown, but that it would also gain further traction in the hospitality sector in which The Caterer has a rich history of rewarding high achievement. In recent years the Roux Brothers, Corbin & King, Robin Hutson, and Alastair Storey have all taken their places in the Hall of Fame. Some of the most successful names in travel have also taken their place, and many are household names in their own right.


Member nominations to the Hall of Fame are open from November to December each year.

The Young Manager & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Awards are for those aged 35 years or younger. Nominees will be asked to submit a written entry outlining, briefly, and where appropriate, their responses to the assessment criteria for each category. This would not be expected to be longer than 500 words in total.